WASHINGTON STATE DIVERSITY & EQUITY OFFICERS COMMISSION FOR COMMUNITY AND TECHNICAL COLLEGES BYLAWS Updated: December, 2020

PREAMBLE

The Washington State Diversity & Equity Officers Commission (DEOC) for Community and Technical Colleges (CTCs) exists to provide *executive-level leadership* for institutional and *systemwide capacity-building* to eradicate racial and other structural barriers to the equitable success of students, faculty and staff. The DEOC is a strategic body directly responsible to the Washington Association of Community and Technical College Presidents' Commission (WACTC), through a liaison appointed by the president of WACTC. The liaison serves as the primary communication link between the Commission and WACTC.

Diversity and equity officers (DEOs) lead work that spans all areas of the institution and the CTC system to strategically advise, assist in activating, and driving equitable change. The DEOC seeks to build institutional and system-wide equity, diversity, and inclusion infrastructure that supports the integral functions of strategic success across our respective campuses and the overall CTC system. Specifically, DEOs serve as primary contributors to embedding diversity, equity and inclusion (DEI) systemically; expanding DEI practices to governing bodies, such as committees; strategic partnerships; building, developing, and sustaining informal and formal networks, and disrupting the status quo using empirically driven practices and research.

HISTORY and BACKGROUND

The Diversity and Equity Officers started as an informal workgroup within the SBCTC system that had varying titles, responsibilities and percentage of time dedicated to the work reporting directly to the President on issues related to diversity, equity and inclusion (DEI). This group was small, as many colleges did not have formal DEOs, but instead utilized committees to do DEI work. This group's purpose was to help center equity and inclusion in retention and recruitment efforts, building equity-focused Guided Pathways, ensuring equitable outcomes through institutional research, cultural competency and overall equity consultation.

The State Board adopted a vision statement in 2019 stating that the colleges within the system will lead with racial equity. The State Board is asking colleges to lead with racial equity and DEI is being centered. Because of these reasons and the growth of the DEOs in the state, the decision was made to move to become a formal commission. Currently, there are 14 DEOs within the SBCTC system and all report to the President of their respective colleges.

ARTICLE I – PURPOSES

The purposes of the Commission are:

- A. To provide leadership and learning to WACTC on the importance of the role of diversity and equity officers and issues related to equity, diversity, and inclusion.
- B. To propose goals for and support the development and implementation of policies and procedures, programs, and practices, as established by a consensus of the membership or assigned by WACTC.
- C. To work collaboratively with and support WACTC commissions and councils, in order to promote, integrate, and advance equity, diversity, and inclusion goals across the CTC system.
- D. To support the advancement of a system-wide infrastructure of equity, diversity and inclusion training and professional development at all levels of the community and technical colleges in Washington.

ARTICLE II – MEMBERSHIP

Membership

A. Official members of the Commission shall consist of the cabinet-level diversity and equity officer reporting to the President, from each community and technical college.

B. The email distribution group will be limited to official DEOC members.

ARTICLE III – OFFICERS

Section 1: Officers of the Commission shall be the Chair, Vice-Chair, Secretary, Treasurer, and Workplan Coordinator; otherwise referred to as the Executive Board. Officer positions will be added or removed based on the evolving needs of the commission.

Section 2: Officers shall be elected during the spring meeting of each year and shall take office at the beginning of the summer meeting. Unexpired terms shall be filled by election by the members at the succeeding general meeting.

Section 3: Duties of officers shall be as follows:

A. The Chair shall be the presiding officer of the Commission, ex officio member of all committees, and representative to WACTC.

B. The Vice-Chair shall, in the absence of the Chair, perform the duties of that office.

C. The Secretary shall keep minutes of all meetings of the Commission and the Executive Board in collaboration with SBCTC support staff. They shall be the official correspondent of the Commission.

D. The Treasurer will also maintain the official financial records, receive and disburse all funds at the direction of the Chair and actions of the Commission.

E. The Workplan Coordinator will facilitate the coordination and development of the DEOC work plan.

Section 4: Terms of officers shall be as follows:

- A. The term of office will be for one year.
- B. Terms are renewable for up to a maximum of three years, by a consensus of the Commission.

ARTICLE IV – MEETINGS

Section 1: There shall be at least one regular meeting per quarter and there may be other regular or special meetings, as designated by the Chair. In the interest of transparency, inclusiveness, accountability and collaboration, the DEOC will host at least one annual forum to which community members will be invited.

ARTICLE V – VOTING

Section 1: Each official member shall have one vote.

Section 2: Voting is restricted to official DEOC members.

Section 3: There must be a minimum of 2/3 of voting members present to constitute a quorum to vote.